Manchester restaurants triumph at this year’s Restaurant Magazine R200 Awards

The annual awards were held at Manchester’s Ramona and Firehouse venue, and saw some big names take home a prestigious accolade.

By Emma Davidson | 16 November 2022

Share this story

Rudy’s Pizza and Indian street food restaurant, Bundobust came out on top last night at the annual R200 Awards held at Swan Street’s Ramona and Firehouse venue. 

Organised by Restaurant Magazine, the ceremony recognises excellence across the hospitality industry as voted for by industry peers. 

The R200 academy, a list full of experts from throughout the UK restaurant scene, vote for their favourites in each category, ensuring that the winners are decided fairly.

Rudy’s, the popular pizzeria which sits as part of the Mission Mars portfolio, took home the award for ‘Restaurant Group of the Year’, which is a huge achievement for a brand that has fewer than 20 sites. 

Taking to Instagram, Rudy’s said: Woke up feeling blessed. This one goes out to our superstar servers, pizzaioli, bartenders, back of house, managers and everyone involved in making our pizza dream come true.”

Over the past year, the restaurant has steadily grown, now featuring sites in Birmingham, Leeds, Sheffield, London, and is set to open its 15th next month at Liverpool’s Albert Dock, which will be its third location in the city. 

For Bundobust, it was owners Mayur Patel and Marko Husak that took home the accolade for ‘People of the Year’. 

The Indian street food and craft beer restaurant has gained a cult following since opening back in 2014. With a new brewery site in Manchester, as well as restaurants in Liverpool and Leeds, the group has continued to provide diners with an authentically vegetarian Indian experience, often encompassing unique dishes and takes on its own home brewed beer. 

Other restaurants that took home R200 awards on the evening include Dishoom, who won ‘Brand of the Year’, Glasgow’s Salt and Chilli Oriental, who were awarded as ‘Ones to Watch’ and Loungers who took home ‘Restaurant Group of the Year’.